Sunday Song 7.23.17

As I was rehearsing with my musicians this morning, we came to our invitation hymn of the day, “Abide with Me.” I mentioned to them that this is a song I go to many times when in need of comfort, solace, and assurance. Minutes after we rehearsed it, I received notice that Sandy Currin, secretary at the Department of Music at Union University, stepped into the gates of heaven about 25 minutes earlier. Sandy was a dear lady to hundreds of people, including my wife and I. It appears that this hymn once again finds me when I need comfort, solace, and that sweet, blessed assurance. How sweet it is to know that “in life, [and] in death, [the] Lord abides with me.”

Leave a Reply

