Wins & Losses (June 4-17)

Last week was vacation week, so today’s edition of W&L covers two weeks worth of life in the Brash cave…

Wins

  • Becca cooked a MARVELOUS dinner on the 5th that included pan-seared steaks, baked potatoes, roasted asparagus and zucchini, and crescent rolls. Despite us setting off the fire alarm and receiving a phone call from our security company, everything tasted wonderful and our bellies were quite full by the end of the night.
  • We are continuing to learn new things about Reagan with each passing day. One day we’ll discover a new trick that makes her giggle, and the next day she is reaching for everything in her arm’s reach. This stage of life is so very fun, and we love doing life with our little girl.
  • I’ve started a new book called Worship Matters by Bob Kauflin of Sovereign Grace Music. This was a gift to me from my in-laws at Christmas. From the moment I finished the first page, I was beating myself up for not having read this book sooner. It is filled with valuable information for music leaders as well as pastors. If you are in pastoral or music ministry, I highly recommend adding this book to your library.
  • We enjoyed a week at Orange Beach last week with my side of the family. We managed to cram 7 people plus a baby into one condo unit and we all came out alive! It was so sweet of my parents to provide us with a vacation this year. MY favorite part of the trip was the seafood boil on Tuesday night and the nightly games played around the living room table. Despite the daily overcast and intermittent rain, we managed to enjoy ourselves quite well.

Losses

  • I am the world’s worst about overbooking. I never mean to do it intentionally, but this plagues me probably more than any other professional issue. I volunteered for VBS well after I had agreed to play at the conservatory at Playhouse on the Square. I think the worst part about it is having to own up to it to whomever needs to know. It’s never an easy task.
Leave a Reply

