Pentecost Sunday Song 6.4.17

Confession: I am a Baptist that actually enjoys high church and prefers following the Christian church calendar. It’s not a dealbreaker when it comes to the church I attend, but I find great meaning and teaching opportunities when the liturgical church calendar is followed. Having been a Baptist my whole life, my only exposure to the church calendar was Easter and Christmas for the major holidays and Good Friday for the minor holiday. It wasn’t until I went to college that I discovered all the other holy days/seasons like Epiphany, Lent, Maundy Thursday, Ascension Sunday, and Pentecost Sunday. I’d heard of Pentecost and Lent, but had near no explanation of them until I started digging for myself. And what a world of church knowledge I found when I did! Since then, I have tried to implement them in my ministry work, reminding the congregation I’m serving that we have more to celebrate that just Christ’s birth and resurrection. There’s so much more that happened while He was on earth and after He ascended! We miss out by not acknowledging it! That’s why I’m excited to celebrate today, for the very first time, Pentecost Sunday.

The occurrence of Pentecost can be found in Acts 2, and most of it was a fulfilled prophecy from Joel 2. I encourage you to read those two chapters today and see how God was working throughout Scripture, years before Peter and the other disciples felt that “mighty rushing wind.” As you do, enjoy a song that prays for God’s spirit to be present in our lives even today.

Leave a Reply

