Wins & Losses: 2016 Lookback

Since I’ve gotten off-track with Wins & Losses the past three weeks, just enjoy a lookback at 2016 and its wins & losses.

Wins & Losses

Wins

  • Learning that I was going to be a father in late June was a moment I will never forget. I didn’t react the way I thought I would, but my excitement and emotions were anything but put on. I can’t wait to welcome Baby Brasher into this world this year.
  • Buying our first home was an unexpected joy. We weren’t sure if we would be able to take it on, but God has provided not only a home for our growing family, but the means to pay for it as well.
  • We celebrated a year of marriage in December. I wouldn’t want to go through life with anyone else. I used to make fun of married couples when they would lament over not being with their spouse for a few days. I take all of my ridiculous comments back. It’s legitimate.
  • It was a joy to be back in music ministry starting in May 2016. I had not expected this to happen as soon as it did, but I’m glad it did. I had missed leading church music and it’s been a wonderful journey with LEBC. I look forward to another great year of music-making with them.
  • Landing a job at FACS has been such a blessing. I’m not teaching music, but I am surrounded by teachers who love Jesus so much. I have been encouraged along my walk there at FACS, and I would recommend this place to anyone in the world.
  • Speaking of FACS, I directed my first play in 2016. As much as I love the theatre, I never picture myself directing a show until it happened. I was very pleased with how it turned out. We’ll see how good my directing skills are when it comes to my musical this spring!
  • I loved getting involved with Theatre Memphis early in 2016. I thought I had buried Into the Woods for a good, long while. But when I made a few phone calls and received some back, I found myself at the piano during rehearsals and some performances going through that music all over again. It was so much fun getting to work with such talented people. I can’t wait to do it again.
  • Seeing Sandi Patty live in concert was a moment I will cherish forever. I have been a fan of her’s for about 11 years, and to see her live before she retired was a special moment. It was an absolutely incredible concert, and a wonderful birthday present from my wife.
  • Thanks to Orpheum season tickets from my in-laws, I was able to see Annie on stage for the first time. This was the show that first triggered my love for the theatre. I remember watching the Wonderful World of Disney special that aired in 1999, and falling in love with it right from that moment. It was nice to bring it full circle.

Losses

  • Losing my job at the end of May was a hard blow to me. I never in my life expected to be fired from a job, nevermind the fact that it was “without cause.” It greatly affected how I looked at myself as a provider and leader of a home. But, God was faithful.
  • We had a financial burden make an appearance just before I lost my job. The student loans we were paying on were suddenly doubled thanks to some confusion with the company in control of them. Once we got it sorted out, the numbers were a bit daunting. Nevertheless, Becca has (wonderfully) managed our finances so that we are paying on both student loan accounts without destroying our bank account. God is faithful.

And with that, we bid farewell to 2016. First edition of Wins & Losses 2017 will be on January 9th!

Leave a Reply

