The Day After Election Day Hangover

It’s done. It’s finally over. An election season that started in March 2015 with the entrance of Ted Cruz into the GOP primary. 22 candidates, two primaries, and two nominating conventions later, we now have President-elect Donald Trump.

I was one of the many Americans who stayed up WELL PAST my bedtime to watch the results come in (and still didn’t make it to 270). And for a teacher, that’s not healthy. I’m sure I’ll be paying for it today. But I wanted to watch history be made, no matter the outcome. I can’t say that I’m happy with the outcome and I certainly wouldn’t be happy if it were the other way around. But I’ll keep my thoughts somewhat brief and offer these observations and reflections:

  • I did not vote for Donald Trump or Hillary Clinton. I voted for write-in candidate Evan McMullin.
  • Republicans now have total control of Washington D.C.  They also hold a record 32 governorships and a sleu of state legislatures across the country (including the New York State Senate). That makes me very happy for what can get accomplished.
  • Donald Trump deserved every single vote he got. He defied every odd by beating out 16 mostly well-known primary contenders and the ultimate political powerhouse whose first name has become synonymous with Democratic politics. 2016 is the Upset Year.
  • Despite what any of you may think, neither one of these candidates were the “godly candidate.” Neither of them showed the genuine fruit that expect of Christ-followers around us every day. So don’t walk around claiming that “God’s man won.” God knew who was going to be president before creation (John Calvin shoutout). On that same note, both were created in the image of Almighty God and have a purpose on this earth.
  • No everyone who voted for Trump is a xxxx-phobe or bigot or hater. Backing a candidate doesn’t make you his/her twin. My brother voted for Trump and he is anything but a racist, sexist, homophobic bigot. He’s a loving human being who couldn’t stand the thought of Hillary Clinton at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue.
  • I am absolutely THRILLED that the Clintons have finally been vanquished (for good, I hope). We all needed them to go home.
  • Democrats will assume that we are in for the worst just like Republicans assumed it in 2008. Y’all, we’re going to be alright.
  • Even though God wasn’t on the ballot in any state, neither of those two candidates could thrust Him off His throne. Last night was not a surprise to Him nor a deterrent to His ultimate good and perfect will.
  • Just like any candidate, every elected official (including Mr. Trump) deserves to be given a chance. Thankfully, we have the power to vote them out of office if they don’t measure up.

Now, let’s all take a breather for a day before predictions about #Election2020 start on Thursday.

 

One thought on “The Day After Election Day Hangover

  1. Hi Logan! I got on your page studying about Tags on WordPress to help my site more. It led me to ‘WordPress Reader’, and to learn more about tags by then clicking on one of my tags from a couple months. When I clicked on one of my tags named ‘Evan McMullin’, your blog came up!
    I was surprised seeing what good having a tag on my WordPress site did, but also pleasantly surprised to find your blog! I enjoyed reading a little news you have about you and your family on it, but also was very surprised to read some good wise intelligent and humorous News from a Christian brother who also has gotten the LIGHT that ‘the lesser of two evils’ is STILL EVIL!!
    I think you’ll be glad to know that the ‘Evan McMullin for President’ site and many of the people involved, have along with Evan McMullin created an organization called the ‘New Conservative Movement.’ At this time, the best way to get there is to go to one of Evan McMullin’s FB Pages:
    Team Evan McMullin or Americans for Evan McMullin
    Evan has been posting almost everyday, filling us in about where he thinks we should go with this movement. Stop over; think you’ll really enjoy it!! And may want to include stories and/or videos from it on your blog here.
    I’m still in faith for Evan, whom I believe is a gift from Heaven, will at some time be our US President — somehow!
    The more I continue to learn about the deceitfulness of Donald Trump and it’s danger with him being President, especially at this time; and also, how seeing more and more extremely God loves us, I am ever more and more convinced of God, in some way, moving Donald Trump out, and Evan McMullin in!!
    A MIRACLE — YES!! Something God LOVES to do!!
    Please feel free to visit my WordPress site: Jesus2016Compassion4America.com
    and give me any tips you think might help me.
    I like the way yours is set up — looks good!
    With Jesus’ Compassion 4 America! (& the world!!)
    Love, Soteria (& Jesus!!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

