Wins & Losses (October 16-22)

Wins & LossesWins

  • Since starting it back in May (!), I have found time to continue reading a book by Paul S. Jones entitled Singing and Making Music: Issues in Today’s Church Music. The book is a collection of essays that cover pretty much every topic you can think of regarding church music. It reminds me of a college textbook, so it hasn’t been a leisurely read. Nonetheless, I am coming across things I haven’t thought about before and can’t wait to continue on in it (Paul S. Jones is the Organist and Director of Music at Tenth Presbyterian Church in Philadelphia).
  • Monday marked two years together for Rebecca and I. It’s hard (very hard, actually) to believe how far we’ve come in two years, but I wouldn’t trade any of it for anything in the world. Love you, darling.
  • Friday night saw us under the football lights for only the second time this season as FACS took on Kingsbury at home. It was a pretty lopsided win, so we left at halftime. But it was enjoyable to spend the evening with Babylove before bidding farewell to the 2016 football season.
  • Saturday was the fullest of days as we got up at 4:30 a.m. to go to the Ole Miss Choral Festival. As full as it was, the day was very enjoyable and all three of Babylove’s choirs took home superior ratings. But let’s just say that it’s a good thing you aren’t adjudicated on your accompanist…

Losses

  • It drives me absolutely insane when businesses take advantage of every customer that comes through their doors. I experienced it earlier this year with a tire shop near our house, and thought I’d give them a second chance when I needed an oil change last week. To save you a very long and irritating story…fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me.
  • I have come to the realization that it is very likely that Hillary Clinton will win the presidency in 16 days. Now that I’ve said it, I don’t want to discuss politics anymore until February (minus a blog post on November 9th). Can you believe those words are coming out of my mouth?
  • Due to hectic schedules on both our parts, our house has remained in an unclean state for a while. I enjoy a clean house, so it is irritating to come home to a dirty house and be too tired to actually clean it. Weekends are a prime time to do it, but not when you have events on weekends too! Here’s to hoping there is a bit more time in the day as the coming weeks approach.
Leave a Reply

