“Well they deserve it!”

At the beginning of each of my classes here at FACS, I go through a devotional with my students. I decided to go through the Psalms with them this year, knowing that it will take up most of the school year if we do one psalm a day. Some days, we split up the psalm due to its length. Yesterday, I read the first half of Psalm 7. The first 5 verses are below:

O Lord my God, in You I have taken refuge;
Save me from all those who pursue me, and deliver me,
Or he will tear my soul like a lion,
Dragging me away, while there is none to deliver.

(3) O Lord my God, if I have done this,
If there is injustice in my hands,
If I have rewarded evil to my friend,
Or have plundered him who without cause was my adversary,
Let the enemy pursue my soul and overtake it;
And let him trample my life down to the ground
And lay my glory in the dust.

It was verse 3-5 that totally jumped out at me. To my knowledge, I have never read this psalm before. In the psalms that precede this one, David is crying out to the Lord in distress. His enemies are rising against him and he begs to Lord to rescue him. But once he gets to Psalm 7:3-5, he makes a very unconventional request. He begs God to not spare his life if he has done anything similar to what is being done to him by his enemies. What a prayer.

As I meditated on this passage, it got me thinking about how we act towards those we happen to, for whatever reason, dislike. I’ll freely admit that there are several along life’s path that I just cannot stand. I have, on many occasions, slandered their name for no other reason than the fact that I just don’t like them. And what is my reasoning?

“Well, they deserve it.”

When I say this, I imply that simply because I dislike a person, they deserve the slander that comes out of my mouth. But do I deserve slander when it comes out of their mouth? How dare they!

You what we all deserve? Hell. Why? Sin.

I pray that I follow David’s example; the example of not asking for God’s protection and deliverance unless I am innocent towards my adversaries and the Lord.

Leave a Reply

