Wins & Losses (February 7-13)

Wins

  • On Monday, we found some time to make a quick trip to Adamsville for Natalie’s senior night. It felt so good to see some familiar faces again, and to watch the old rivalry between AHS and HCHS.
  • I sent in my absentee ballot this week, casting my vote for Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL).
  • On Thursday, I went over to the U of M to hear my friend Sabrina Warren present her DMA recital. She is an extremely talented soprano with whom I’ve had the privilege of working with in the past at Union. She sang beautifully, and I’m very proud of her accomplishments in the doctoral process.
  • A rare musical opportunity came our way on Thursday when we went to see/hear Mendelssohn’s “Elijah,” presented by the Memphis Masterworks Chorale, at Second Presbyterian Church. The fact that we got to see that work in its entirety is a blessing. I even saw an old friend from Arts in McNairy singing in the choir! And the best part was that it was FREE!
  • We continue to receive wedding photos from our fantastic photographer, Natasha Durham. If you haven’t seen them yet (which would be a surprise), I encourage you to check out my Facebook profile.
  • On Saturday, not a single one of my piano students showed up. That was the easiest money I’ve ever made.

Losses

  • Rebecca was sick ALL WEEK LONG (sinus infection). The poor girl could hardly talk, and performed in extremely low gear. She eventually got over it, but it was super hard to watch her knowing how much pain she was in.
  • After the New Hampshire primary, Carly Fiorina suspended her presidential campaign. I had already come to grips with the fact that she wouldn’t get the nomination, but it was still disappointing to see her go so early in the primary process.
  • The anniversary of the death of Olivia Greenlee brought back some tears and sadness on Thursday & Friday. I think that no matter how much time passes from that day, I’ll always get a little emotional thinking about it.
  • The U.S. Supreme Court lost a conservative giant on Saturday morning. The death of Justice Antonin Scalia is a major loss to our country, and drastically changes the importance of our next president.
  • The Republican debate on Saturday was a hot stinkin’ mess. While Sen. Rubio did extremely well, Donald Trump really showed his butt the entire two hours. He interrupted EVERYONE, and personally attacked several candidates on stage, particularly Jeb Bush. If Trump’s poll numbers don’t go down after that, especially in SC, I’ll be shocked.
Leave a Reply

