Discouragement

If there is one thing I’ve learned about being an adult, it’s learning how to deal with discouragement.

Yesterday, something struck a dissonant chord in me. I began to feel unfulfilled with my job and everything that goes with it..so much so that I spent a good amount of time looking around online for jobs in the Memphis area. I can’t say exactly what prompted it. It was early in the school day (about 8:45), and I had just finished my first period class. I felt unqualified to teach, not good enough for this job, not equipped to meet all the demands required of me, and all of that led to some extended disappointment and dissatisfaction. Satan was working overtime on me.

Well, one of the reasons I married Rebecca is for her ability to encourage me. When I texted her about this, she immediately wanted to call me and talk it over. She has such a gift of making someone feel needed, wanted, and equipped. And she did that for me. Now, to be completely honest, I was still not completely over my discouragement. She did help a lot, but not completely. That’s when a passage of Scripture that I had already read that morning starting meaning something to me.

Lord, You are my portion and my cup of blessing; You hold my future. The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance. I will praise the Lord who counsels me–even at night my conscience instructs me. I keep the Lord in mind always. Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken. therefore my heart is glad, and my spirit rejoices; my body also rests securely (Psalm 16:5-9).

I repeated this passage of Scripture over and over throughout the day. The power of God’s Word is not something to be underestimated. This passage reminded me that my fulfillment doesn’t come from a job, finances, social standing, church, or even my marriage. The Lord is “my portion.” He is the daily fulfillment that I need. This does not mean that I won’t face discouragement in this area of life again. But it does assure me that God holds my future. He has laid out every step before me. I know that by trusting the Lord with every ounce of my future and being obedient according to His will, my life will be lived in abundance.

*And to give credit to my Mama, she reminded me that this could be “growing pains” as God prepares me for the next step ahead. David herded sheep before he became king. It could be that I am just “herding sheep” right now. A wise woman, she is.

Leave a Reply

