My Job

I’ll admit it…there are many days that I go home wishing I could get up the next day and go to a different job. Whether it was students, coworkers, or something completely unrelated, something caused me to despise my job and want to leave immediately. This is the life of a teacher. But then, there are days when I can’t wait to get to school. For example, today I received an email from my principal and it encouraged me as an educator and as an employee of the Collegiate School of Memphis. It’s a fantastic reminder of the importance of my job as a teacher, specifically, a teacher in a Christian school. I have pasted the text of the email below:

A characteristic of an effective Collegiate educator is faithfulness, and a few aspects of The Collegiate Way that strongly display faithfulness is the focus on God’s word before the doors open at 7:15; the focus on God’s word at the beginning of class; the focus on God’s word during Community Times and Chapels; and the focus on going before the Lord in prayer throughout each day.  All of these instances are a tremendous commitment to living in a way that advances the truth, beauty, and goodness of the Gospel.  

Recently, I read I Chronicles 16 which gives an account of King David’s response to focusing his and his people’s lives to the presence of God.  This passage made me wonder about the title given to David as “a man after God’s own heart” and his position as king, and how he responds to different life events.  Here are a few ways he responds and focuses his and others’ lives on God in verses 8-36:
  • he turns his all to God in worship
  • he turns others’ hearts in worship of God
  • they pray to God
  • they thank God
  • they praise the Lord
  • they celebrate God
  • they call on the Lord
  • they sing to Him
  • they remember the Lord’s all-gracious covenant with His people.

When reading this and wondering, it reminded me of the work Collegiate educators do each day.  The manner in which the scholars under our care are turned to God through reading and hearing His word is a response to faith; going before the Lord in prayer throughout the day is a response to faith; singing songs of praise as a community is a response to faith.  In faithfulness to God, continue pointing our scholars to the Lord just as David did.  In faithfulness to our God, continue living in a way that advances the truth, beauty, and goodness of the Gospel of Jesus Christ!

 
Press on!
Leave a Reply

