Wins & Losses (December 6-12)

Wins

  • Rebecca finished out her time of classes at Union last week with great grades and a sweet welcome home.
  • I have, again, gained new insight by rereading the Christmas story (see previous posts). The power of God’s Word never ceases to amaze me and I find myself more in awe of Him every single day.
  • WE HAVE MOVED TO SINGLE DIGITS! At this point, we are five days away from a radical change in the life of Rebecca and me. I have all the feels right now.
  • I successfully pulled off a Christmas concert with my choir at Collegiate School of Memphis. I was pretty nervous going into it (we’ll get to that later), but the scholars performed very well and I was one, happy teacher once it was over with.
  • CHRISTMAS SHOPPING IS DONE.

Losses.

  • Rebecca and I attended Todd Starnes’s “All-American Christmas” at Bellevue on Wednesday night. While it did have its good moments with regards to musical performances, the whole thing seemed to be a time for ultra-conservatives like Todd Starnes to use Christmas as a subject for harassing those of a more liberal view on things. There was hardly any moment of sacred reflection on the birth of Christ aside from the carefully staged setup and reading of the Luke 2. Needless to say, we were quite disappointed in the evening.
  • Getting dresses for my choir was an absolute nightmare. They were supposed to ship on December 4th (Friday) which would get them here by that following Monday. They didn’t ship until Monday and arrive around 12:30 p.m. the day of the concert. I didn’t know I had that many nerves that could go off at once.
  • Getting the students ready for a performance the night of the concert was a hot mess. Keeping their attention was a struggle, and running through pieces had me on pins and needles. Why is it that dress rehearsals always have to be so bad before a great performance?!
  • I have lost a piano student at Bartlett Music Academy. While it is upsetting to lose a student and additional income, I am glad to not have to deal with her mother anymore. I’ve always said that teaching would be easy if it weren’t for the parents (this is also true in youth ministry).

 

Leave a Reply

