Things I Miss

It’s been over a month now since I became a legitimate Memphian. And in that time, I’ve discovered a few things. I have found lots of differences between Memphis and Jackson/Adamsville. I’ve discovered some things I love, some things I hate, some things I miss, and some things I don’t miss.

I love proximity. Everything is close. I am less than five minutes from Kroger, Target, First Tennessee Bank, Chick-fil-A. I am also close to many attractions that I’ve visited in the past like the Orpheum, Fedex Forum, Liberty Bowl, and airport.

I hate traffic. Even though I am close to many things, the traffic can get to me. I am used to no traffic and the traffic I experienced in Jackson was bearable.

I miss a lot of things. I miss going to bed to the sounds of crickets and frogs. I miss one red light. I miss those really thick, southern accents. I miss slugburgers. I miss having people I know all around me. I miss my church. I miss small businesses. I miss my family. I miss Rebecca (when she’s not here).

I don’t miss a lot of things. I don’t miss having to drive ten minutes to anything. I don’t miss Sonic closing before ten. I don’t miss bad cell service. I don’t miss unintelligent people (although Memphis has their fair share). I don’t miss everything closing before 5:00.

Al in all, I am really enjoying living in Memphis. I can’t see myself staying here forever. However, for this season, I am here and I’m having a great time.

Leave a Reply

