Presidential Campaign Logos

One of my favorite parts of an election is the logos of the candidates running for office. I really enjoy examining these logos because I think it gives voters an idea of how connected the candidates are to the 21st century and its technological advances with regards to graphic design. Now, I don’t claim to be a graphic designer by any means. But I would like to list my top three favorite logos and my bottom three least favorite logos of the candidates in the 2016 presidential election.

THE GOOD

3. Rick Santorum

-1x-1

I am quite a fan of Sen. Santorum’s logo. It is very similar to his 2012 logo, minus the tagline from that election cycle. The font is simplistically bold, but the eagle is just a little creepy.

2. Marco Rubio

marcorubio

The lowercase letters of Sen. Rubio’s name was a good choice. Keeping the tagline in the Century Gothic type with capital letters is a nice contrast to the candidate’s name. However, I am just not sure how I feel about the Lower 48 being used to dot the “I” in his last name.

1. Carly Fiorina

90758396bbeb1b8eb3be48f8fbc5cc8a6e051243

I absolutely love Carly Fiorina’s logo. She really captured the great color contrast with the traditional red, white, and blue. I always love navy-themed logos, and the use of white letters really makes her name pop. The star in the middle of the “A” is kinda weird, but a good weird. I hope folks will give her a listen.

THE BAD

3. Hillary Clinton

hillary logo.jpg.CROP.promovar-mediumlarge

I could have made this on Paint. The Hillary camp uses this argument to their advantage, but look at it. It looks very mid-1990s, perhaps a shoutout to her husband’s era when he was running for president. Yes, she can edit it with ease to make it fit whatever she happens to be supporting at the moment. But, the most interesting thing to me is the arrow. I get this feeling that the arrow is subliminally saying that she leans right instead of the left…maybe that’s just wishful thinking.

2. Rick Perry

perrynonpix

I know Texas has a lot of baseball teams, but did Rick Perry have to incorporate every single one of them for his logo?

1. Donald Trump

Trump_2016

The fact that Donald Trump is running for president is a joke in and of itself. His campaign logo is anything but presidential. Go home, Donald. You’re drunk.

Leave a Reply

