Life Change Alert!

CSOM Academic Logo Transparent

If you are friends with me on Facebook, you probably already know about this. I am posting a more detailed description here because no one likes for their News Feed to be filled up with one person all the time.

On April 25th, I got engaged. It was a beautiful day and made for an unforgettable weekend. I was on Cloud 9. However, the fun didn’t stop there. I was scheduled to be at The Collegiate School of Memphis the following Monday, April 27th, for a third and final interview for a music teaching position. Having never heard of “third interviews” before, I honestly had no idea what to expect on this trip to a school that I had already grown to love.

From the moment I left the campus the day of my first interview, I knew this place was special. I had never heard of the school until two weeks prior when it was recommended to me by a representative from Cornerstone Preparatory School. I had no commitments yet, so I decided to check it out. This is a decision I do not regret.

The day after I submitted my resume, I received a call asking for an in-person interview. I met with the principal and the Head of School and I was sold that day. I got an email two days later asking for a second interview. This second interview was more informal. I had to write on the spot (they place a heavy emphasis on writing at CSM) and they gave me a tour of the entire school, including their sanctuary where they hold chapel. On the platform, before my very eyes, sat a high-gloss ebony Yamaha CFX. For those that don’t know, that is a 9-FOOT CONCERT GRAND PIANO. They graciously let me play the angel of an instrument. As if I wasn’t sold on the school already…

On the third and final interview, I was offered the position. They had told me that they had made their decision after my first interview, so it was great to know that we were on the same page. The position gives me the opportunity to teach general music, class piano, choir, and yearbook (thrown in to make the job completely full-time). The job offered competitive pay, great benefits, and numerous opportunities for professional development both in-house and outside the walls of CSM. They even offer tuition assistance if their faculty members choose to pursue graduate degrees. HOW GREAT IS THAT?

The work of the Lord throughout this process has been fantastic. I sometimes have no words for it. I have found a potential apartment complex about ten miles from the school. Rebecca is going to be student teaching in Memphis after we get married. The University of Memphis offers the master’s degree I am interested in.

How can one not see the hand of God in all this?

CSM campus

Leave a Reply

