How it Happened: Logan & Becca’s Engagement

A week ago, I made a decision that has been a long one in the making. I asked Rebecca to marry me and she (rather enthusiastically) said yes. A lot of you have had moments to share in our joy and we are so thankful for you. For those of you that have not had a chance to hear about how it all happened, get ready for a recap.

We had planned a day trip to the zoo on April 25th. We left early so that I could have breakfast with her dad in Collierville while Becca spent time with her mama. As far as Becca knew, I was there to ask for the blessing. Unbeknownst to her, I had gotten the blessing about three weeks earlier. Her dad and I had a great talk and I pitched to him the idea of proposing that day. My reasons? I had the ring and both families plus some of our closest friends were all going to be in the same place at the same time. The chances of all those things happening again were slim to none. He let me know his thoughts and said he would have an answer for me by the time we left the zoo. After breakfast with her dad, we went on to the zoo and had a marvelous time.

Zoo date

We had to leave around 3:00 because we had to get back to campus to get ready for our Saturday night performance of Into the Woods. By the time of our departure, I still had not received an answer. I texted her dad and got the green light…which meant I had an hour and a half to plan a proposal and get someone there to document it. By the grace of God, Becca fell asleep. That gave me a little freedom to make some phone calls and send some texts (via speech-to-text, of course). I was also able to get the ring from the back door compartment into my pocket, all while driving down I-40. What can I say? I got skills. We get back to campus and I also get some more time to make phone calls while Becca freshens up in her dorm. We are headed towards the theatre, but stopped at the SUB so I could “check my mail” (Disclaimer: I had checked my mail the day before; I obviously had no mail in my mailbox). Thanks to a few unforeseen circumstances, Becca needed to go further into the SUB, which gave me a chance to lead her into the Prayer Chapel located next to the Office of University Ministries. I told her that I wanted to talk to her about what her dad and I had discussed that morning. We sat down on a pew in the Prayer Chapel and I told her what her dad and I had talked about that day and the three weeks before (she still thought I had just asked for the blessing that day). I told her what she meant to me, how much I loved her, and how much I wanted to take care of her. I said that we have a long way to go and it all starts with the first step. I rose from my seat and before I could even get down on one knee, she was bawling like a baby. I pulled out the ring, and said, “Rebecca Nicole, will you marry me?” She said yes and it was documented.

Proposal (1)

Immediately afterwards, we got on our knees and prayed for our engagement and future marriage. Once we left the chapel, we were greeted by her parents and siblings and our friends that documented the moment. It was so tender. We go to the theatre and celebrate with our cast members and make it through our performance of Into the Woods. At the end of the show, more and more people are there to celebrate with us and we loved every moment of it. Since then, we have been loved on in every way imaginable. We are continually realizing how blessed we are. I simply cannot wait to marry this girl in seven and a half months. #brasherbridetobe

IMG_0222

Leave a Reply

