Making a lifelong impact

Every parent wants their child to be influenced in a positive way, especially from age 2-8. I have been told on numerous occasions that this is the most influential age for children. When I was younger, my family made sure that what we watched on television was not only appropriate for our age, but influential. This wasn’t just on an educational or emotional level, but a spiritual level as well. We had our fair share of VeggieTales and Bibleman videos. However, one series of videos made a larger impact on me than any of the others.

Bill & Gloria Gaither are known around the world as modern-day gospel music pioneers. They took gospel music to new heights when they debuted their Homecoming videos in the very early 1990s. Amidst the hundreds of Homecoming videos, they also had a video line directed at children called “The Homecoming Kids Series.” My grandmother discovered them when I was about 4 and I am so glad she did. She bought the VHS tapes and I watched them over and over again. Vestal Goodman and George Younce were the “grown-ups” in the videos and the kids featured were the sons and daughters of the Homecoming Friends. The messages and life lessons in these videos were so incredible and directed right at children my age.

As is typically the case with VHS tapes, they dilapidated over time. This really made me sad and I doubted that I would find them anywhere else because of their age (the first video was produced in 1995). In the last few years, my mom has been really desperate to get them on DVD so that she can show them to her future grandkids (no worries, folks…grandkids are NOT in the near future). So I got on the Internet and got to searching and found a bundle pack of 4 DVDs with the soundtracks to each for $30! I was so excited that I found this incredible deal! I order them and just got them on Saturday. It was only then that I realized how much of an impact they made on my life.

I listend to my CDs today and yesterday. It was amazing to realize that I remembered all of the songs from all the videos. Thank heavens they included the dialogue on the soundtracks between the songs. I was able to re-visit the life lessons that Vestal and George taught the children and the more I listened to them, the more I fell in love with them all over again. Maybe it’s because I know I will have children one day and I will want them to learn these lessons.

Parents, if you want to find some great videos for your young kids that will keep them entertained, teach them singable songs, and give them stories from the Bible with age-appropriate application, get these videos. The hairstyles and clothes are a little dated, but I promise you that you will not be disappointed. The CDs also provide a way for your children to listen and sing to the songs on the go. I hope you’ll invest in these great children’s videos that will impact them for a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

