Thanksgiving Break 2014

Union did it right again when they gave us a full week off for Thanksgiving break. It has been such a nice break from school, considering the major tasks for me this semester are now completed.

I spent the first few days of the break in Collierville with Rebecca and her family. We had such a great time. I was given a tour of the Memphis suburb, which is such a nice city. This is one where they have preserved their rich heritage, and expanded to keep up with the modern era. The Leet family gave me an intense movie marathon with titles such as Now You See Me, The Prestige, Mockingjay: Part 1, and Inception. My brain was fried by the time I left! Did I mention I also learned how to play Spades? Apparently it’s a right of passage to approval with the Leet clan.

The rest of the week was pretty relaxing with the usual Thanksgiving traditions taking their place in our home. I got up in time to watch the parade from start to finish on Thanksgiving Day and we had two great meals with our families. I went “Black Friday Shopping” if you could even call it that. The extent of my shopping included buying three flannel shirts at Tractor Supply for 20% off. I don’t think I fall into the category of true Black Friday shoppers yet. The siblings and I traveled to Trenton that night to watch AHS take on Peabody in the state semifinal playoff game. We came up short, but our Cards played a good game.

Today has been a day of un godly amounts of football. I am in the middle of my third football game and I haven’t been disappointed yet. Louisville beat UK in a close one and Tennessee put up a solid fight agains Vandy that makes us bowl-eligible for the first time in four years. As of now, Auburn (15) leads Alabama (1) 26-21 at halftime and I am going all out for the Auburn Tigers. War Eagle!

Leave a Reply

