That 5th Year life…

 

Bx8FFKJCYAAyzsN

Being a 5th-year senior is a weird feeling. Rarely do I run into folks that I was in Focus with back in the fall of 2010. I have a decent relationship with the current senior class, but it still isn’t the same as the relationship I had with those that graduated last May. But, thank heavens, I have some folks that bear the burden with me.

Last night was the first Barefoot’s Joe Open Mic of the semester. I knew beforehand that I might not know a ton of people there, but I always love Open Mic. The music is good and the atmosphere is very informal. The line-up last night was one of the best ones I have seen since I’ve been here. We had the traditional hipster/indie songs that are close to the heart of Barefoot’s. Of course, there is no problem with that. But we also had a nice mix of other music too. We had some hip-hop, some rap, some acapella, some oldies, even two guys doing a comedic news dialogue. As if the music wasn’t enough, I saw a lot of 5th-years hanging out as well. A few graduates showed up to mingle with us and we had a great time. It’s an awkward feeling, but less awkward when you are in groups! Some of us even joked about forming a 5th-Years Anonymous support group, but we realized we were too poor for that.

All this to say: even though being a 5th-year can be awkward, weird, and sometimes depressing, there are enough enjoyable times to forget about the negative times.

Leave a Reply

