Summer has Started

This summer is a little bit different than my previous summers as a college student. For the first time since 2011, I am not participating in AiM’s summer musical. While the original plan was to stage Annie! at the Latta, licensing issues with MTI forced us to cancel that show and instead put on The Wizard of Oz. It is a bit sad to not see my theatre family in the evenings for eight weeks, but I can’t say I’m not enjoying the nights at home with my family.

Speaking of family, the Brasher household is not quite complete this summer. Quinten is working at a camp in Mississippi all summer and won’t be back in Mud Creek til August 7th. This does make it weird when we go out to eat as a family and ask for a table for 4 rather than 5. Mama also gets a little teary-eyed when she makes four laundry piles in the floor after folding clothes. But we are happy with where he is and this also gives Natalie and I lots of bro-sis time before I go back to school in August.

I got one of my dream jobs this summer. Thanks to the help of Ericka King, I am now working for Ed Jackson in his campaign for State Senate. As if that isn’t good enough, it’s a job that lasts until the general election in November! Some opportunities just in the last week include meeting Rep. Stephen Fincher (R-TN), Leigh Rosser Wilburn (running for state rep in District 94), and most notably, Dr. Ben Carson during his book signing tour that made a stop in Jackson.

Dr. Ben Carson

I also have a sleu of weddings this summer. I have already played for one back in May, but the weddings don’t wrap up until July 5th before I will have a break until October. Now don’t get me wrong, I love weddings. But going to all these weddings (whether to play or just attend) as a single guy gets to be a bit much. #allthesingleguys

It’s going to be a full and busy summer, but I am determined to make it my most memorable one. This time next year, I’ll be a college graduate ready to take on the next chapter of my life.

Leave a Reply

