Reflections on the First of Two Senior Years

The 2013-2014 year at Union was much like an ocean. We had a lot of ups and a lot of downs between August and May and this is a year that will be remembered by students and alumni for years to come. As I sit here tonight in my bed, in my room, in my house at Mud Creek, I reflect on the moments I remember most about the first of my two senior years.

image

Decorating Dr. Mathews`s office the night before his 40th birthday. One of the best “pranks” I have ever helped pull. I think actually might have liked it…

image

Watching my high school band clinch their 8th state championship!

image

Attending TISL and getting elected Speaker of the House, which allows me to serve with these awesome people.

image

Participating for the first time in the One-Acts with these great thespians!

image

Watching the Department of Music come even closer together when we suddenly and tragically lost Olivia in early February

image

Going to Ireland with my best friends and singing in some of the finest churches and cathedrals in the world.

image

Rocking the Cardinal Ball with these cool cats!

image

And, hands down, having the best and most beautiful date in the whole place.

image

Being inducted into the Beta Mu cast of Alpha Psi Omega

image

Helping produce “We Remember.” This was a beautiful night of worship as we remembered our sweet Olivia, celebrated God`s faithfulness, and raised over $20,000 for the Olvia Greenlee Memorial Scholarship.

As you can clearly see, God has been so good to me this year. And this is only a snippet. But it is a bit depressing. Nearly everyone I came to Union with in the fall of 2010 graduated two nights ago. It felt so wrong not being in the procession with them. Yes, I will be a super-senior. I felt closer with this class than any other and I will probably not feel as close with the group I graduate with next year. I don’t believe in the “no regrets” theme that some people adopt. For me, I regret not getting to know some of those that graduated until this last semester. There were some fantastic seniors that I knew, but didn’t KNOW. And my last chance of seeing some of them ever again came two days ago. That is heart-wrenching.

However, I have managed to grow closer with several other people. I have also met some wonderful people that I haven’t met before. No matter the emotions surrounding my circumstances these past few days, God is still on the throne and He is always good. And at some point, I will anxiously await the things He will do during my super-senior year.

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.” -Galatians 6:9

Leave a Reply

