The Sound of Music LIVE!

I was one of the very few people who didn’t get to see the live NBC performance of The Sound of Music on December 5th. I had a rehearsal that night (irony?) and reading the comments on social media about the show just made me sick. Not the nature of them, but the fact that I wasn’t getting to see it. I had looked forward to it for months and then once I realized I wouldn’t get to see it, I was so irritated. I had high hopes for it. I love Audra McDonald and the musical itself. I was skeptical of Carrie Underwood at first, but when Julie Andrews gave her seal of approval, I decided to give her a shot. Well, as I was walking through Wal-Mart today, I saw this…

I had to buy it (it was only $15). So I did, as a little Merry Christmas gift to myself, and brought it home. I sat down with only the lights on the Christmas tree, a mug of coffee, cookies, and watched the movie. And I loved it. Carrie portrayed the role of Maria BEAUTIFULLY and the children were exceptional, particularly Ariane Rinehart who portrayed Liesel. But the most fascinating actor on that stage was the timeless and brilliant Audra McDonald.

I was first exposed to Audra when she took on the role of Grace Ferrell in “Annie,” the film by The Wonderful World of Disney. Her voice just captivated me. I loved it. The Sound of Music was no different. She took the role of Mother Abbess and rose it to new heights. Her voice was the perfect choice for this role and those last two notes in “Climb Ev’ry Mountain” were like heaven on earth. She hit them spot on and I was ready to applaud her, even though I was watching it by myself.

I give it a 5 out of 5, easily. Well done, NBC. Well done.

Leave a Reply

