Rekindling Friendships

Being the little social butterfly that I am, nothing thrills me like having friends (LOTS of them) around. I have 1,037 friends on Facebook (it’s a lot, I know). But I go a lot of places and meet a lot of people, so naturally I would have a lengthy friends list. One of the most wonderful things about friendship is rekindling old friendships from times gone by. Friends in elementary school, high school, college, and even adulthood for those that are there. This year, I was able to rekindle a friendship from high school that had pretty much fallen by the wayside. Man, what a blessing it has been.

Karessa and I had known each other since I was in the 7th grade. She was friends with Emily Cunningham, my best friend at the time, and we were introduced MAYBE once. So I always knew who she was. It wasn’t until my sophomore year of high school that we really hit it off. We had the same World Geography class and sat next to each other and the friendship took flight. That semester, we got to know each other so well and I loved that I was actually getting to know this girl that I had “known” for several years. We had such a good time in that class. We were partners for SO MANY PROJECTS in that class, including making up our own Irish restaurant. However, after that class, we sorta drew apart. We got into relationships with other people, got involved with our extra-curricular activities, and just didn’t spend as much time as we used to. I’d see her every once in a while and we would exchange a quick “Hey!” but that was the extent of it until this fall.

We both showed up at the same 5th Quarter after a football game this last season. I was overjoyed to see her and nearly tackled her with the hug I gave her. We spent about an hour or so catching up on each other’s lives and finding out what we had missed out on. Since then, we’ve become closer than we were back in high school and I’ve loved every minute of it. Her sarcasm is in high gear all day, erry day. There’s always the snide remarks from her to me and me to her that are said in complete fun. She was my football game buddy this year and I her’s. She’s given me her opinion on things that I needed advice on. All in all, it’s been fantastic. I really hope this isn’t a short-term thing because, if you’ve been reading my blog long enough, it’s quite obvious that I HATE losing friends. Maybe she’ll stick around for a little while.

Ressa

Leave a Reply

