Band Memories

SAM_1313

Every once in a while, I like to pull out my old band DVDs, look at my senior band yearbook, and scroll through old pictures from band to just reminisce. Last night was one of those times. I have gone to two band competitions and several football games and reminded myself of how big a blessing band was to me while I was a high school student. Since I am not athletic AT ALL, band was an outlet and a great opportunity for me. Friends were made, music was created, and inspirations were implanted. I firmly believe I had one of the best music educations and band experiences around. Mr. C was and still is a phenomenal band director and believed in me enough to convince my parents to put me in band when he saw me perform at a piano recital in 2004. And boy are we glad he did. I flipped through the pages of the band yearbook last night and tried to remember each moment when the pictures were taken and what could have been going on during that time.  It was great. Then I watched two of my band DVDs and air-played my parts (and didn’t miss a beat, mind you).

I can’t wait to see how the AHS Band continues to succeed this year. I get to see them at their last two competitions starting next week, including State. Go Little Red!

Click here to see pictures from my senior year of band when we won the state championship!

Leave a Reply

