The Final Preview Day

Tomorrow, I shall venture on my final Preview Day as a Student Ambassador here at UU. Being an SA has been one of the largest blessings during my time here and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. If I didn’t have too many other commitments to attend to in the next two years, you can bet that I would still be doing it next year.

The group of Ambassadors that I’ve been able to work with has been the best of the best. We have grown together as a family, sharing our lives with each other. The counselors we work for are such a blessing to us as well, even the counselors that I am not assigned to. Laughs during Call Nights, stories of tours and phone calls, etc. There is never a dull moment as an Ambassador ๐Ÿ™‚

Ericka King was the enrollment counselor I was assigned to. Last August, when we had our training, discovering who you would be working with was like Big/Little reveal in a sorority. I was bouncing when I discovered that I, along with my very dear friend Mollie Tranum, were assigned to Ericka (a.k.a. “Boss”). See, Ericka went to McNairy Central and was a band kid. It was too perfect. All year long, I’ve been able to make McNairy County jokes with her. We have shared laugh after laugh after laugh. Most of these laughs involve acting like Madea. Boss has been more than just a counselor to work for. She has encouraged me and given me advice when I needed it the most. I will probably miss her the most when I leave after school lets out.

Then comes the most important part…the students and their parents. Yes, I have had my fair share of weird, annoying, and downright rude ones. But there have been enough good experiences with them to make my job worthwhile. The conversations I have had with these students and parents have been priceless. When I see passion in a student’s eyes that scream, “I want to be at Union!” it’s a magical feeling. It’s even better when they make their deposit and you know that you had an impact on that decision.

Ambassadors, it’s been a fun ride and I’m going to miss working with you all. Especially my partner, Mollie Tranum. Courtney, thank you so much for believing in me and giving me an opportunity to perform this job. Boss, you rock. And don’t fret…I’ll be around.

Leave a Reply

