Out of Your Hands

Last night, I was doing a devotion with someone and we studied a topic that hit home with the both of us. Beth Moore’s “Breaking Free” book is a tough one, so I’ve heard. I haven’t studied the whole devotional, but we did this one anyway. It addressed the topic of finding peace in Christ and how all the other right things will fall into place afterwards.

It compared the peace of Christ to a river. Rivers always have a larger source. The Tennessee River is fed from the Mississippi River and the Mississippi River is fed from the gulf of Mexico. In the same way, our peace comes from a larger Source–Jesus Christ. All the other things that seem to bring us happiness come from that peace. When we try to find that happiness in the wrong order, chaos erupts. And here is where we tend to get a little uneasy.

I like to be in control. I don’t necessarily have to be in charge, but I like to know what’s going on and I enjoy the feeling of controlling whatever might be going on. When I realize that I have no control, I freak out and worry myself  to death. Then I begin thinking about the plethora of other things that I don’t have control over and worry some more. See a pattern here?

Here is where the peace of Christ steps in. It’s okay for me to be dependent. Now granted, it’ll be extremely hard for me to say, “Jesus, I’m not going to worry about this anymore; You deal with it.” That tastes like vinegar coming out of my mouth. And it’s because of a lack of faith. The disciples had enough faith to drop everything they had (jobs, security, family, friends, homes) to follow Christ. I find myself wondering often, “Am I really able to to that?” or “Can I actually take up my cross daily?” It’s ridiculously tough.

But, like always, the peace of Christ transcends us. It lets me know that even though I  may not feel like I have it all together, the Source from which that peace comes holds it over me, as well as the other things I want to have control over.

“Thank you Father, for never letting me down. Remind me always that it’s not my place to make things happen like You want them to.”

Leave a Reply

