Playing for the Right Reasons

 

Anytime I’m given the chance to play the piano at FBC Adamsville, I jump on it. Being on staff at FCC Adamsville, I don’t get much time to spend with my family and church family at FBC. So when Bro. Michael asked me to do special music today and tonight, I gladly and willingly accepted the offer. I chose “We Shall Behold Him” as my piece to play.

When I play for the church, they never fail to compliment me. I love them for that. They are precious people that I have had the privilege of knowing for about ten years (some longer, some shorter). However, my ultimate goal is to bless those people with the music I play. I don’t want them to hear some guy who can tickle the ivories. I don’t want them to hear “pretty piano music.” I strive to make them hear the words through my fingers. As complicated as it sounds, it happens. I spoke with a lady after church today who who gets a bad rap on a regular basis. She began to tell me about how rough her year has been. She has multiple sclerosis and this has been the toughest time that she’s ever had with it. She commenced to telling me that the song I played this morning calmed her nerves, relaxed her hurting body, and for the first time in a long time, made her feel good.

That’s why I do what I do. Not to get tons of compliments. Not to get paid. Not to show myself off. I love blessing people. It brings me SO MUCH joy when people say they were sincerely blessed by a song I played. It doesn’t give me a big head, though some might think it. And if they are blessed and don’t tell me about it, that’s fine too. I don’t have to know. As long as they were able to experience God even for just a moment, that’s good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

