“It happens to the best of us”

Let’s just say Sunday was an absolute trainwreck for me at church. I thought I had everything worked out perfectly. No tricks, no surprises, NOTHING.

I was wrong.

We get started and microphones start squealing left and right. IN EVERY SONG. And if that’s not bad enough, I hit a key change in our last song. I use this key change every time we sing this song and I never change my path…E-flat to E. Always. But for some reason beyond me, I could not find my notes when I hit the key change. I sang about six notes, realized it was a lost hope, and let the congregation finish it out. I’ve never been so embarrassed in worship in my life. I sat down in my pew in sheer disbelief and whispered to Lyndi, our pastor’s daughter, who has been leading worship with her husband for some time.

She said, “Logan, it happens to every worship leader. You just can’t avoid it. It’s happened to us at least 20 times in 5 years. Trust me, it’ll happen and you just have to roll with it.”

Comforting? Not much. But at least I won’t be as surprised next time it happens.

Leave a Reply

