My Little Ole College Church

For the most part, college students who get plugged into a church normally look for a church with a vibrant college ministry. They do this for obvious reasons. I was a part of Englewood’s college ministry for a year and a half before I took my staff position at FCC Adamsville. However, I have not gone back to EBC since then. It wasn’t because I didn’t like it. But I was really plugged into the choir there before I went to FCC Adamsville. I couldn’t be a part of the choir anymore because of my new job.

However, I was able to plug in elsewhere. Josh Simmons, the son of my high school piano teacher John Simmons, told me of the church that he attends in Crockett County. Crossroads Baptist Church in Bells.  I also knew the pastor and his family because Bro. Stacy had taken a few classes with my dad through Union. I played the piano there a few times during my freshman and sophomore years. But, when I took my position at FCC, I decided to start going on Wednesday evenings. And it has been one of the biggest blessings since I came to UU! They have some of the most loving people I have ever seen. Is there a college ministry? No. I am the college ministry! Mother is always asking me why I don’t find a church that’s closer with a vibrant college ministry. Hello! I’m around college kids all week! I need a little variety! The 20-minute drive is great too because I get to see the most beautiful sunsets and amazing landscape. I feel so loved and valued every time I walk through those doors. And by the time I’m back at school, I feel revived, refreshed, and ready to take on the second half of the week.

I am so thankful to God for using this church to bless me and to teach me more about His word and His mission.

Leave a Reply

