SHINE: Part 2

The room is empty. The banners are down. The posters are up. The stages are dismantled. SHINE 2012 has come to an end.

This has been the most rewarding week and year of my life. Working with AMTC since August 2011 has brought me so much joy. We all know that joy is not temporary and you can have it even in your low times. I have had both with AMTC. Now, let me share my week with you!

I participated in 5 showcases while I was here: Photography, Commerical Runway, Scene Read, On-Camera, and TV Presenter. 3 of these are acting, 2 of these are modeling. When I wasn’t performing, I attended about 6-7 seminars that gave us helpful information and advise from VIPs about the industry of entertainment. These ranged from fashion modeling to musical theatre and film acting to auditioning for Disney. They were so informative and I took pages of notes in each one. The most informative one for me was “Working in Musical Theatre” by Stephen DeAngelis with Grey Group, NY. He was very down-to-earth and had no problem getting on our level because he had been in our shoes years before. And he didn’t just give a resume, but told us exactly what we needed to do to achieve our goal of working in musical theatre. Then Sunday morning came.

Callback day. The most anticipated day of SHINE. I got up at 6 and showed up at 7 to receive my callback sheet at 8 (we’re told to always be early!). Our AMAZING team leader, Cyndee, gave us all a pep talk before she even gave out one callback sheet. To my disappointment, I received no callbacks. This was very disheartening to me. However, I did my best to keep my head high and blow the VIPS away at Flash Interviews. I wanted the VIPs to think I had received 7 callbacks. When I got to the FIs, I was first in line for the NY Conservatory for Dramatic Arts and Advantage Models & Talent (Nashville). I visited 6 others, giving each of them a headshot with a resume. They were all very helpful and informative, giving me all sorts of advice that I need to continue my goal. You may say, “So you talk to them; big deal.” But, what I haven’t told you yet is that when I visited Advantage Models & Talent, they gave me a callback right there! He was so excited to find out that I was near Nashville. Talk about being at the right place at the right time!

That night was the biggest night of all. First, we had the Grand Awards Banquet. This was a formal dinner where awards are given out in several categories. My group (Atlanta Bridge) was well-represented and even won several awards! After that, all the performers stood in the foyer taking pictures with the friends they had made throughout the week. THEN! THE WRAP PARTY. This was the most fun I have ever had with these people. We all gathered in a ballroom and danced the night away. I even danced with a supermodel! During this time, I also met a girl from West Tennessee (goes to UTM) who had the same birthday as me…the same year, THE SAME HOUR. Creepy? I’m thinking more along the lines of coincidental 🙂 We danced together during “Hey Jude.” While dancing, we started having conversation and it turns out that we have mutual friends! It was amazing!

 

Like I said before, this has been so rewarding. I have no regrets at all. In fact, I just might come back again in a year or two!

 

3 thoughts on “SHINE: Part 2

  1. This is such a great story! I attended AMTC Summer SHINE 2012 myself. What an experience. My mom literally had to pry me out of bed so we wouldn’t miss our flight back to Virginia. /: Congratulations on your callback! That must have been so exciting! God is good and definitely has a plan for us. Glad he is using you to your full advantage. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Logan! I just auditioned for AMTC this weekend and got a callback! I already went to orientation but my parents weren’t able to go with me. Now they’ve found stuff on the internet saying AMTC is a scam and not worth it. Did you think that AMTC was worth the money? and was the SHINE event everything they made it seem at the audition? and What have you done with advantage models since your callback?

    Like

    • Hi Chelsea! Thanks for reading the blog! The AMTC team is aware of these reports and they will assure you that AMTC is anything but a scam. You are able to figure this out for yourself through the classes, photo shoot, and SHINE itself. As for worth the money, it’s really up to each individual performer. If you plan on doing this for life, it is. If you are thinking more along the lines of just doing it for fun, then you might want to reconsider. The biggest thing is to pray about it. If God wants you to go, He’ll provide the funds one way or another. I have not been working with Advantage since I got back because I am a full-time student. I did get asked to audition for a faith-based movie in California, but was unable to do so. SHINE is amazing. One of the best weeks of my life. I’ve not met one person who didn’t enjoy their time at SHINE. The best part about it was the seminars and Flash Interviews where all the learning takes place. I’d be happy to answer any more questions you might have (I am an Ambassador for AMTC). Feel free to email me at logan.brash@gmail.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

