An Unexpected Ending to a Really Bad Day

Today was just one of those days. Nothing seemed to be working in my favor (except for the 87 I got on my World Lit test). Some issues regarding housing arose last night that I wasn’t too excited about. I had two projects due today and one of those projects hit a major bump around midnight last night. Therefore, I was up for a quite a while. Then I totally bombed my piece that I played in repertoire class today. I hate messing up when I play the piano so that really put a dent in my day. By the time I finished talking with my piano teacher, I was just ill and ticked off and ready for the day to end. So, I decided to go get my oil changed and tires rotated from King Tire Co. since I had a coupon…and since my car had gone almost 6,000 miles since it’s last oil change.

I get there and while I’m chilling and waiting, a fellow named Brian comes up and sits down and we get to talking. It turns out that we have a mutual friend and he all but promised to come see “Into the Woods” in June. So, that was a nice conversation. But the best was yet to come.

After Brian left, a man by the name of Lee Brewer comes and sits down beside me. Mr. Brewer is 85 years old. We get to talking and talk for an hour and a half. He tells me his life story and then we get to talking about the Bible. He opened my eyes to things I had never considered in my entire life. I was entranced the whole time and that hour and a half seemed to pass by like a speeding bullet. Well, after our long and enjoyable talk, our cars were called up at the same time. We go to separate registers and when I get ready to pay, the man at the counter says, “Yours has been paid for.” I was startled and said, “What?” He replied with, “Mr. Brewer paid for your oil change, rotation, and inspection. Have you met him before?” The thing was, I had never met Mr. Brewer in my life until that day. I was speechless and very emotional. This has never happened to me before. And today was the perfect day for something like this to happen. And what did I learn from all this?

There is a God. And there are still good people in the world.

One thought on “An Unexpected Ending to a Really Bad Day

Leave a Reply

