Fundamentalists

I know this is a touchy subject, but I feel like I need to address a thing or two.

Yesterday in my World Literature class, my professor told a story of an uncle of his who was a hyper-fundamentalist. This particular uncle would not read anything at all besides the Bible. He would not watch VeggieTales with his kids because it was not the printed 1611 King James Bible. He would not watch the news because it wasn’t the Bible. He would not even read the newspaper. When asked how he would witness to co-workers, he said, “Why would I need to do that? I only work with Christians.”

Most of the fundamentalists believe that we as Christians ought to live a life set apart from the world. I would agree. However, it has come to my attention that most fundamentalists think we ought to, for lack of better words, “quarantine” ourselves completely from anything but church and the mission field. For one thing, you would live quite a sheltered life. The gentleman above claimed that he would only work with Christians. Now, that’s a good thing if you’re blessed to land a job like that. But how in the world are you going to fulfill The Great Commission when you won’t even associate with non-believers? This brings me to my next point.

Christian education. A wonderful thing. I’m proud to say that I attend Union University, a Christian college. I’m also proud to say that I graduated from Adamsville High School, a public school. Pretty much every fundamentalist believes that public school is the spawn of Satan and would NEVER send their kids to one. This serves as their reason for starting private, Christian schools at their churches. Again, Christian schools are a wonderful thing. And there are some public schools that teach very liberally while some teach more moderately. However, if these children are taught in Christian schools, elementary through college, because the fundamentalists believe that public school is evil, tell me how they are to be witnesses to non-believers who are a part of their generation.

I’m not going to dig very deep into the King James Only debate. I’ll just say there are some versions that are acceptable and some that are not. The King James is one of those that is acceptable.

I say all that to say this: there is a fine line between sanctification and total separation. We can’t distance ourselves so far from the world that we can’t witness. If we don’t associate at all, how are they to know about Jesus (? And if we don’t witness to them because we are living “a separated life,” that’s pretty much a statement that says we are okay with them spending an eternity in hell. Sometimes, we have to adapt to a degree in order that we may find a common bond between ourselves and a non-believer. That may be movie or music interests, sports, food, literature, and other “secular” things.

In plain English, not everything in this world is evil. For example, lots of fundamentalists believe that they shouldn’t attend movie theaters because movies are evil. Well, what about Courageous? The Blind Side? Facing the Giants? Letters to God? Fireproof? Are these evil because they are were shown in movie theaters?

Just think about this…Jesus hung out with sinners.

 

Leave a Reply

